How can i build muscle

Options
Im a beginner Im 5'4 and weight 257 pounds. im a heavy guy but ive been deiting so the pounds are coming off. Someone said free weights and barbell is best, are lifting machines bad?.......I want to be a big muscular guy like LL Cool J, how should i train like someone my size and how many reps should i do?

Replies

• KarenJanine
    KarenJanine Posts: 3,497 Member
    Options
    You won't build much, if any, muscle while you are losing weight (can't make something out of nothing).

However, strength training will preserve the muscle you have, ensuring the majority of your weight loss comes from fat.

Follow a beginner free weight program such as Stronglifts 5x5 or Starting Strength.

Once you reach your goal weight, if you want to add muscle you'll need to eat at a surplus to gain mass, then cut to trim the fat. Rinse repeat until desired body composition is achieved.
  • No_Finish_Line
    No_Finish_Line Posts: 3,661 Member
    Options
    5'4'' 257 sounds like your primary focus should be on burning fat.

the good news is that if you could magically make the fat disappear, your probably a lot more muscular looking then you'd think.

You can do one of those basic lifting programs like strong lifts or whatever. You want to do some kind of resistance training while you eat at a defecit (with plenty of protien) just to help you hang onto the muscle you already have. You will not be able to build muscle while burning fat because one requires excess calories and the other requires a defecit.

To make a long story short, You'll want to hit every body part at least twice a week, reps aren't too important but keep them to 12 reps or less is probably going to be optimal. The more sets you do, the more calories it will burn.

At the end of the day, getting where you want to be is going to be 80% or more about how good you are with your eating.
  • No_Finish_Line
    No_Finish_Line Posts: 3,661 Member
    Options