I'm in a Slump

Options
I've been doing MFP for a bit more than three months, I've lost 24 pounds and I'm 13 pounds away from my goal. I feel so proud of myself and I know I'm almost there, but lately I've noticed I've been a bit discouraged. The scale isn't moving and I've upped my workouts to around an hour and a half a day and so I upped my calorie intake to 100 calories more. Maybe because I'm so close I feel like I can be a little easier on myself but I'm not sure. Working so hard and not seeing any change is making it difficult to keep pulling on. I really want to be a success story but it's getting a little harder being so close and unable to move forward.

Replies

• Giddyduck
    Giddyduck Posts: 212 Member
    Options
    It is challenging to lose esp once you start to get close to your goal. Make sure you are taking measurements and pictures. I do this every 4 weeks. I had been stuck in plateau from December until recently. The thing that kept me motivated was that I kept losing inches. I could see the changes in the pictures even when I was/am frustrated I know I am making progress.
    I am 15 pounds from my goal weight and I have lost a total of almost 30 pounds so far. Keep trucking along....
  • TheWorstHorse
    Options
    Good work so far! Plateaus happen for everyone on a long term loss and fitness plan, so don't get too discouraged. As another poster said, monthly photos and measurements will give you another way to see progress. And if you are feeling really stuck, open your diary. Without being able to see what you are actually logging in exercise and food, it is difficult for other people to give you any ideas...
  • leep917
    leep917 Posts: 40 Member
    Options
    Thank you. I take pictures and I try to keep motivated! Its hard though I suppose plateauing is apart of the process. Congrats on your loss! Inches are proof of progress
  • adaybetter
    adaybetter Posts: 51 Member
    Options