Why are people such ****s when it comes to dieting?

Options
So I've been tracking my calories for about six months now. I was never seriously overweight, but I gained some weight from quitting smoking last summer and I wanted to lose it so I started tracking in order to do so. I had tried to keep this under wraps for the most part - I didn't really know why but I didn't want to come out and say that I was actively trying to lose weight.

Well, now I know why. I lost all the weight I had gained plus a little, and now I am in the best shape of my life pretty much. So naturally I mentioned to a couple of people that this app works really well and blah blah, I would recommend it when either when receiving a compliment about my body or when hearing a friend complain about feeling fat or whatever. But now that I actually don't need to lose any weight and look pretty good, I find myself faced with a lot of negativity regarding my tracking of calories. It's the eyeroll when I bring my phone out to put in the cookie I wasn't expecting to eat or some snide comment when I turn down a beer or something ("oh riiiight you're on a diiiiiet"). Sometimes this borders on actual hostility.

I don't get it. I understand that some people may not want want to put in the work and maybe there is a bit of a jealousy issue just because I am willing to. But still, as soon as you mention cutting or diet or lifestyle change or whatever, people get seriously snooty in the weirdest way.

Has anyone else had this experience? What do you do?

Replies

• princessnarmor
    princessnarmor Posts: 67 Member
    Options
    It's called -- The green eyed monster
  • Deipneus
    Deipneus Posts: 1,862 Member
    Options
    I never thought about this before but the truth is, I never let anyone see what I'm doing. When I was losing weight I logged discreetly and never talked about it. I wanted to see how long it took for people to notice.