Need some advice urgently!

Options
I used to have an intake of 1400 cals, would walk 30 mins per day at 5mph on the treadmill, twisting and arms swinging for maximum effect, usually being just under cals each day. This was not working, and so I figured that my body was getting used to what I was doing. So I decided to reduce cals to 1200, despite warning not to, increased exercise to 45 mins, cut out bread, and started to drink 8 glasses of water. Still seem to be gaining weight! I did have an easter alcohol binge which wont have helped. So now I need advice on how to start properly again after my binge. I am 5ft 1, medium build, pretty active (walk once per day 5mph between 30 and 45 mins), I am also a teacher that walks around the classroom all day, but my weight hovers anywhere between 11st 2 and 11st 7! I am very overweight and would like to get to 9 stone. Long way to go, but I am determined. What cal intake should I try, what exercise, anything to cut out?

Replies

• tiptoethruthetulips
    tiptoethruthetulips Posts: 3,364 Member
    Options
    Advice previously offered to you was ignored by you, how likely are you to consider the advice this time round?

My one tip is to be honest in your profile and eat the calorie allowance provided to you, eat healthy with the occasional treat, exercise at least 30minutes four to five times a week, drink plenty of fluids..(with no added sugar). Okay that was more than one tip :)
  • Shropshire1959
    Shropshire1959 Posts: 982 Member
    Options
    Sorry to say but one of the key things that I've picked up is that folks 'tend' to Over estimate the amount of energy that they burn through exercise and Under estimate the amount of food that the consume ...

It might be simple maths but it's not a simple problem.

You're probably not burning a lot of energy walking around the class room all day (but for me I'd burn more stress energy having to work with kids!!!!)