Heart rate monitors

Options
chunt87
chunt87 Posts: 161 Member
Can anyone recommend a good heart rate monitor that can help me track calories burned doing things like weight training and aerobics classes?

I do not want a watch--I have a fitbit for that. I want something I can easily put around myself to track my heart rate that can sync to my phone or computer because I am a beginner and feel like I am getting generous calorie estimates on here for things like zumba, running, spinning, etc.

Replies

• xsmilexforxmex
    xsmilexforxmex Posts: 1,216 Member
    Options
    Most HRM will have some sort of watch or device to see the HR (eg: "monitor")...
    that being said - anything by Polar is great, but only some of them sync online/to a computer.
  • KarenJanine
    KarenJanine Posts: 3,497 Member
    Options
    Most HRMs will consist of a chest strap which sends data to a wrist watch. Some of the higher end models sync to computers etc.
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    HRMs aren't designed for weight training - the energy expended in weight training isn't related to heart rate.

I don't sync my HRM (Polar FT7) so can't help with your question but have a look at http://www.polar.com/uk-en/products

Edit to add - online calculators for running and walking are likely to be at least as accurate as a HRM. For anything but steady state cardio then HRM accuracy isn't likely to be great.
  • Dozer71
    Dozer71 Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Polar and Wahoo both have HRM that connect to smart phones so no watch needed. As has been said earlier, the calorie burn calculation is generally suitable for steady state cardio. However they are good to tell you hard you are going and recovery rate when doing HIIT.
  • mockchoc
    mockchoc Posts: 6,573 Member
    Options
    Love my Polar FT7. Can highly recommend it.
  • davmeis
    davmeis Posts: 7 Member
    Options