Beginner workout routine?

Options
I'm a total newbie at exercising regularly and I'm terrified of doing something stupid and injuring myself. Can someone with more experience tell me if this sounds like a good plan?

Monday, Thursday, Saturday: C25K

Tuesday and Friday: Strength training (I don't know much about this, so I just found this youtube video of a 15-min routine for beginners and use 8 lb weights: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0bhE67HuDY)

Wednesday and Sunday: Beginning yoga (A.M. Yoga with Rodney Yee)

EVERYday: 10,000+ steps (usually equates to my normal daily activities, plus a dedicated ~2 mi walk)

Does that sound okay for a beginner? Anything to add? Anything to watch out for? Dangers?

Thanks!

PS -- I am female, 5'4" and currently 203 lbs.

Replies

• lili61
    lili61 Posts: 231 Member
    Options
    At first glance, I would say to add a rest day, especially if you're new to exercising. If you're going to exercise 7 days a week, I would eat most exercise calories back/eat at a small deficit so you have the energy to do these workouts.

I have done C25k and really liked it. I currently am doing a 5k run on T & Thr, and am doing New Rules of Lifiting for Women (strength training) on MWF. I am seeing lots of results this way.

The video you posted--the exercises don't look bad but I would start with higher weight and do fewer reps. When you use lower weight and do lots of reps, all you do is build muscle endurance. If you want to get stronger, stick with higher weight and lower reps. But 'higher weight' is relative person to person. Find what works for you!

But by all means, if you don't feel too worn out or feel like you're overdoing it, figure out what you really enjoy, as that's what will be most sustainable.

Good luck!
  • Nedra19455
    Nedra19455 Posts: 241 Member
    Options