In the office - Stand up Desk

Options
Hey, all!

I just thought I'd share this. I'm going to be trying this out myself since my job is one that doesn't allow for me to be terribly active (I work in IT). One of the statistics that stuck out for me was that extended periods of time spent just sitting reduces production of fat-burning enzymes by 90%.. I figure that, plus the added mobility might help with the weight loss goal.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/12/02/business/stand-up-desks-gaining-favor-in-the-workplace.html?_r=0

It's an older article from 2012, but I was wondering if anyone out there has had any experience with things like this. I got approval from my boss to go ahead and set one up, and that's something I've been working on in my downtime (our cubicles are built in such a way that we can adjust the height of the desktop)

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• tquill
    tquill Posts: 300 Member
    Options
    Some of my coworkers have adjustable stand-up desks. So they can stand when they want... and sit when they want. They seem to like it.
  • SharonNehring
    SharonNehring Posts: 535 Member
    Options
    We have some adjustable desks in our office as well which allow switching back and forth at will. It hasn't helped anyone lose weight though.

There are walking desks, which are a treadmill with a workstation, that do help with weight loss but it's expensive and most employers won't allow it due to safety concerns. Walking, typing and talking on the phone at once would probably be too much for me. LOL
  • Mischievous_Rascal
    Mischievous_Rascal Posts: 1,791 Member
    Options
    A few of the partners in my office have them and say they feel better at the end of the day. They're both slim, so I can't speak to any of the other claims.
  • snazzyjazzy21
    snazzyjazzy21 Posts: 1,298 Member
    Options