Newbie here...need help with diet...I eat too few calories..

Options
Hey Everyone!

I am new here on MyFitnessPal...I need help with calorie intake.

I do not eat much usually one or two meals a day...which I know is not good for my metabolism...I want to up my calorie intake but I dont know what foods have "healthy" calories....obviously I shouldnt go out and eat McDonalds to meet my calorie count....

I hope someone can help me with this...Sorry if its a stupid question to ask...but seriously do not know what to eat...

My diet used to consist of eating out every other day and I have cut that out. I am eating salads, sandwiches(trying the no bread thing), soup, fruit, I love cheese--- and some meat (not a meat fan...chicken and turkey only) ....I have been working out 5-6 days a week, burning on avg. 500 calories...

Thanks for reading :)

Replies

• liscar
    liscar Posts: 311 Member
    Options
    Protein shakes helped me balance out my calories to get them all to "good" calories --- if you are working out a lot, get a good recovery drink, that will add good quality calories as well. Whenever you make a salad, add chicken or some sort of protein and avocado and maybe some boiled egg.
  • runningneo122
    runningneo122 Posts: 6,962 Member
    Options
    First: welcome aboard. Second: The books that I have read all say don't skip breakfast. It's essential to get the metabolism going. Don't skip meals any other time either. The body goes into "starvation mode" to protect itself. You start storing fat and you have less energy to get through the day. Check out my diary by clicking on my picture and then the Diary button. The books also say eat 5-6 small meals a day and eat protein with each meal to prevent insulin spike and crash later.
    Good Luck
  • calthine
    calthine Posts: 18 Member
    Options