Protein

Options
Hey everyone! I'm just getting into weight lifting and am having trouble getting all of my protein in for the day. I am 134 pounds and aiming for 155 grams (35%) protein per day. What is everyone's favorite protein powder that won't break the bank? And what are some other high protein foods that y'all recommend?

Replies

• RavenLibra
    RavenLibra Posts: 1,737 Member
    Options
    Milk, Yogurt, Nuts, Spinach, IF you are going to go with whey protein, look for new Zealand products,
  • RavenLibra
    RavenLibra Posts: 1,737 Member
    Options
    and going cheap on the diet is like going cheap on the TP... eventually your going to touch *kitten* :noway:
  • BlueBombers
    BlueBombers Posts: 4,065 Member
    Options
    I like Pure Protein bars, as for protein powder I buy whatever is on sale (edit: but still look for quality in the ingredients of course).

Cottage cheese
    Cheese
    Tuna
    Chicken
    Greek yogurt
    Peanut butter
    Nuts
    Milk
  • whitneylcripps
    Options
    Have you tried to pure protein powder? I'm thinking about ordering some because there is a coupon for 10 off 30 at target
  • Vincentsz
    Vincentsz Posts: 407 Member
    Options
    See this

http://www.healthaliciousness.com/articles/foods-highest-in-protein.php

And I use Body fortress from walmart! 60 grams for 2 scoops
  • leodru
    leodru Posts: 321 Member
    Options
    Quest bars have 20g of protein - and typically 19g of fibre!

I use a vegan protein powder which i buy at the supermarket health section which goes on sale all the time - not a lot of vegans i guess! I'm not vegan but i can't tolerate Whey protein.

Greek yogurt tends to be cheap for around 10 g of protein....and oatmeal have around 5g per 1/2 cup. I've been finding its easier picking up protein here and there rather than all in a couple bulk meals.
  • SugaryLynx
    SugaryLynx Posts: 2,640 Member
    Options