Lifting and long endurance training at the same time?

Options
Is anyone an expert on strength training and combining it with long distance running? I love the look of the women who lift but I also want to have a sustained cardio program that I can run in 10K charity races throughout the year.

Anyone do both?

Replies

• EllaIsNotEnchanted
    EllaIsNotEnchanted Posts: 226 Member
    Options
    just fuel yourself appropriately. I started lifting and I love it. The hard thing is getting a long distance day and having enough energy to do some lifting. It all comes down to fuel.
  • dschassie
    dschassie Posts: 192 Member
    Options
    I am currently training for an October Sprint Triathlon and a November Marathon. Did 4 races this spring, two 10Ks and two Half Marathons. To be honest, my main focus is weight lifting as it also benefits with running, swimming and biking. So currently my workout schedule is about 60 minutes a day, 2-3 days dedicated to weight lifting, 2 days are a bike & run combo and the run varies in mileage between 3-10 miles and 2 days are swimming. Sometimes the bike gets scratched and I do a longer mileage run to prep for my Marathon (13-20 miles). And occasionally a swim day gets canceled if my body tells me it needs some down time.

Proper nutrition is absolute key. But to answer your question, yes, it's absolutely possible to do both and get the look of a lifter yet have the endurance of a runner. It's just a **** ton of hard work but I love it :glasses:
  • Bounce2
    Bounce2 Posts: 138 Member
    Options
    I maintain both. True lifting gains take a little longer and nutrition can require some serious calculations but I have made steady progress with both. I would argue that training for 10 k races shouldn't cut into your lifting program much, if any provided you progress through both programs correctly.
  • rick_po
    rick_po Posts: 449 Member
    Options