still squishy even with strength training

Options
I've been lifting for about 3 months amd I've noticed my fat on my belly start tl get a lot more squishy and less hard fat, not sure if that makes sense lol. Anyways I though strength training is supposed to make one firm. Any thoughts?

Replies

• tinkbaby101
    tinkbaby101 Posts: 180 Member
    Options
    "Abs are made in the gym and revealed in the kitchen."

Do you have any weight you're needing to lose? Because you may have beautiful, chiseled abs that are just currently in hiding.
  • JenAndSome
    JenAndSome Posts: 1,908 Member
    Options
    Have you lost any weight or inches while lifting the last three months? Have you taken photos so see changes better? What kind of lifting routine are you doing? What's your diet like?
  • albayin
    albayin Posts: 2,524 Member
    Options
    3 months is nothing...try 3 years...
  • christinelast
    Options
    I've lost 2 pounds and only half an inch :( I just have 4 more pound to reach my goal and its all belly. Is about a good 3 inches of grabbing fat. I've been doing squats deadlifts and ohp 2-3 times a week
  • christinelast
    Options
    I'm 5'0 and currently weigh 115 and started off at a weight of 145 last august
  • sparky00721
    sparky00721 Posts: 113 Member
    Options
    I've noticed the same. I believe it may be attributable to loss of visceral (hard) fat as opposed to subcutaneous fat. Visceral fat is far more of a medical concern than subcutaneous fat, and seems to come off quicker than subcutaneous fat, giving the relative impression that one has gone from hard to "squishy" fat in the belly. If that is right, no need to be concerned, and every reason to celebrate the reduction in the visceral fat.
  • Aaron_K123
    Aaron_K123 Posts: 7,122 Member
    Options