How realistic is my goal?

Options
Hi y'all,
I am new to MFP and I had a question to post for anyone with a similar goal that they have reached: I am currently a tight size 14, and my first goal is to be in a comfortable size 12 by the 7th of October (16 weeks). How realistic is that goal? I am eating 1000 + net calorie deficit daily, as well as exercising a minimum of 30 minutes a day, six days a week, including a bit of weight training. I am 5'7". Anyone else manage a similar goal? What have goals have you managed with regards to losing sizes? Thanks!

Replies

• paperpudding
    paperpudding Posts: 9,087 Member
    Options
    I'm not sure what the weight difference between a size 14 and a size 12 is - but You need to be eating more than 1000 net calories per day - that is not realistic, healthy or sustainable.
  • Zardeenah
    Zardeenah Posts: 15
    Options
    I would give myself more time. Is there a reason why you want to be down that muck by October?
  • Glynneybug
    Glynneybug Posts: 196 Member
    Options
    If you are determined and motivated- I think this is realistic but it would require more fuel and more exercise. My goal is to lose 15 pounds in the next 7 weeks. We could do it together? Feel free to add me as a friend. But yes, you definately need to eat more than 1,000 a day.

Take care,
    Glynis
  • Anonycatgirl
    Anonycatgirl Posts: 502 Member
    Options
    I've gone from a 12 to an 8 since the end of December, and I wasn't eating at a particularly aggressive deficit. (It was only supposed to be .5 lbs a week, but it averages out to more than that.) With the right combination of calorie counting and exercise, dropping one size sounds very doable, especially considering you're less than half my age.
  • editorgrrl
    editorgrrl Posts: 7,060 Member
    Options