Starting Strength Programme - Consecutive Days?

Options
Hey,

I'm looking to start the SS programme by Mark Rippertoe, I've done some gym work before, but mainly on the machines rather than barbells, so this is new to me!

The programme says to do 3 non-consecutive days, so in an ideal world I'd do Mon-Wed-Fri. I can't however do Fridays due to other commitments, and this also means I can't do weekends. Do you think it'd work at all doing Mon-Wed-Thu? I'm guessing it wouldn't work quite as well, but as long as I'm improving in some way I don't mind too much!

Info:

Height: 5ft 9inches
Weight: 158lbs (11 stone 4 lbs/71.5kg)

I'm sort of hoping that due to my age I've got a decent recovery time, but that might be optimistic, what are your opinions? Please don't put me down on this, (as I've seen done to a lot of people) I'm a newbie and don't know any better.

Cheers!

Replies

• bluetuesday5
    bluetuesday5 Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    No. Surely you can find some time to train on either Friday, Saturday or Sunday. It's not like the workouts take that long. If you can't I would suggest picking another program.
  • Leadfoot_Lewis
    Leadfoot_Lewis Posts: 1,623 Member
    Options
    No. Surely you can find some time to train on either Friday, Saturday or Sunday. It's not like the workouts take that long. If you can't I would suggest picking another program.

^Agree. You never want to work the same muscles on consecutive days. Bad idea.
  • timbrom
    timbrom Posts: 303 Member
    Options
    Honestly, I'm going to disagree with the above posters. I mean, ideally find a way to find time on Friday or Saturday (Sat-Mon-Wed works fine too) but if you honestly can't, at 18, you will likely have the recovery ability to make it work. Especially at 158 lbs, you are going to have to make sure to eat ALL of the food on Wednesday and Thursday, but it'll work for you, for a while.