Fight Water with Water!

Options
This past weekend I was thinking about water consumption and what I learned in a nutrition class. They said to fight water with water! Now this seems counterproductive but its not! I remember them teaching me that when our bodies are burning fat that the cell structure in a last ditch effort attempt to stay alive. It does this by absorbing water from the bloodstream. If you have a high intake of sodium this effect can more than double the amount of water the body will retain. However, if you continue that water intake and watch your sodium intake after 24 - 48 hours the cell cannot live on just the water the cell membrane has absorbed and then just dies. The extra water that we drink helps to keep those dying cells filled with water instead of nourishment therefore killing and flushing the fat our of system. Remember I'm no doctor and I'm typing this best I can from memory.

I began thinking about it and it really does make sense. When I'm at the gym and I perspire if I keep fully hydrated and I've burned a ton of calories the next day I see little weight loss. Usually 2 days after a mega intense workout I see weight loss. So I say Fight water with water! Don't let that little bit of bloating you are carrying around get the best of you. Instead keep drinking and working out. And get ready for your body to flush that junk right out of your system!

Replies

• dwazy
    dwazy Posts: 13
    Options
    Thanks for the reminder and yes it does make sense!! I too want to see the scale move after a hard workout from the day before but that rarely happens. I've accepted it now (although frustrating) and I have to make myself drink water. I have found now that the craving for diet coke in the afternoon is gone with no headaches too. I hate to drink the water but make myself drink 24 ounces on the way to work, about 30 ounces before lunch, and about 30 ounces before I go home. If I don't structure it this way I fall off. Good luck to you!!