Beginner Runner...

Options
1lexisva
1lexisva Posts: 978 Member
I have a hard time catching my breath...does anyone have advice on what to do so I can keep going instead of stopping in one minute..I would love to run...Thanks!

Replies

• MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    Slow your pace. As a novice I'd suggest aiming for a pace that you can talk at. That'll probably feel ridiculously slow, but the main thing that you're aiming for now is continuous running rather than fast running.
  • 1lexisva
    Options
    True..I was running on the treadmill at speed 5 and had to stop...I think I am going to do the couch to 5k app
  • MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    I used a C25K podcast about 16 months ago, currently working on half marathon training with a forecast completion of 1hr50.

It's well worth it.
  • Awesomers
    Awesomers Posts: 144 Member
    Options
    Slow down and make sure you're taking full breaths rather than shallow ones. There are different breathing techniques on the internet if you're inclined to look but I say just remember to breathe in and out.
  • SonicDeathMonkey80
    SonicDeathMonkey80 Posts: 4,489 Member
    Options
    Slow down. You don't need magical breathing techniques either - if you can't carry a conversation during a normal run, you're doing it wrong.
  • erkerns
    erkerns Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    Definitely do some kind of C25K app. I recommend the Zombies, Run! 5k training app if you're into science fiction.