getting out of starvation mode without gaining weight?

Options
I started out my diet eating 1200 calories a day, and I lost weight gradually and in a healthy way. As this proceeded, I started eating less and less to 800, 600 and now this week, I've been eating 400-500 calories a day. (and I've lost weight) My body is probably in starvation mode and I want to eat more, but would that make me gain all the weight back? What should I do?

Replies

• Sparky1030
    Sparky1030 Posts: 163
    Options
    First, I think you should contact your physician. I'm not a doctor, but depending on your weight I don't see eating that little every day as being healthy. Your health should come first and then find a plan where you can continue to lose weight the healthy way. Maybe consult a dietician; I did that the first time on MFP and it was telling at my weight, which is a LOT higher than yours, that I was in starvation mode. I am disabled so I'm not able to do traditional walking, running, etc., but do seated exercises and it's amazing how much I can get my heart rate up with those. Please don't starve yourself; get some professional help.

Chris
  • s_pekz
    s_pekz Posts: 340 Member
    Options
    Couple of red flags in your post. Why did you start with such a low goal and why is it getting lower. Starvation mode should not be your concern. I am worried about your mental health and the possibility of this slipping into an ED
  • KaterinaTerese
    KaterinaTerese Posts: 345 Member
    Options
    Regaining after a very long stint with low calorie disordered eating is generally something your doctor should guide you through.
    Go talk to your doctor as soon as you can and be honest about your eating habits and emotions concerning weight gain.