I only consumed roughly 800 calories today

Options
This is my first time really trying to track my calories. I thought I was doing great by staying under 1200 for the day. Then when I submitted my diary entry for the day it said it was unhealthy. I am not an active person, I sit at a desk, and my pedometer said only 1500 by the end of today. I ate 3 meals and 2 snacks, and I havent even felt as though I was starving all day. Cereal for breakfast, grilled chicken salad for lunch, sauteed chicken, snap peas and squash for dinner. My snacks were string cheese and a greek yogurt cup.
Essentially what I want to know is, for me being as innactive as I am, is this okay? Or do I need to be taking in the full 1200 per day? I am new to this so any advise is helpful!
Also, I'm 20 years old 5'5 and 197 lbs.

Replies

• kimny72
    kimny72 Posts: 16,013 Member
    Options
    I am pretty new at this myself, but since you haven't gotten any replies yet, I want to start you off with something.

First, try reading through the sticky posts at the top, they do a great job of explaining how to figure out where your calories should be! I learned a ton from them.

Second, are you measuring your servings and listing every ingredient? I only ask because if I ate a bowl of cereal, a string cheese, a greek yogurt, some chicken salad, and more chicken with veggies, I would eat way more than 800 calories!

Otherwise, I can't be of much more help, because I have NEVER had a problem eating all my calories :) I get hungry if I haven't eaten 800 cals by the end of lunch. Good luck!
  • AllOutof_Bubblegum
    AllOutof_Bubblegum Posts: 3,646 Member
    Options
    1200 calories is probably not the right number for you. More that probably. Definitely.