LOGGING ACCURACY/margin of error

Options
Hi everyone

I've been counting calories for two months now but have only just started doing it on MFP. I'm getting used to the new settings etc. (still confused about my macro needs) and am a little distirbed by the differences with my other calorie counting website.

For example: I just logged my calories for lunch and MFP says I've eaten 35 calories less than what the other website tells me. I'm wondering: if I can end up with 100 calorie differences/day, that means a difference of almost 1000/week, which is a lot.

Does anyone take margins of error into account when logging ?

Also, MFP seems quite generous when telling you how many calories you earn when exercising... am I right ?

Replies

• RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Options
    Yes, it is very generous about how much we exercise.
    Regarding calories being accurate, some of us have noticed that the data base is not completely accurate.
    I check against other sources on the web or with the food in my hands (reading from a package at home).
    After a few weeks, this is not a big deal, because I am not eating brand new foods everyday.
    Agree about the margin of error.
  • Tilda_P
    Tilda_P Posts: 30 Member
    Options
    You eventually start to learn what kind of entries are reliable and which aren't. Comparing that against nutrition info available on packaging is one way to help alleviate that issue as well as picking good measurement tools (mass is ALWAYS superior to volume, i.e. 30g as opposed to 1/4 c.)

Using a food scale cuts down on a lot of guesswork and avoid entries for things like "1 scoop" or "1 leg of chicken" because those are subjective based on the kind of food you buy and the tools you have in your kitchen.