Stress eating

Options
Does anyone else have this problem? I ruined my first day (yesterday) because of it. Did better today but it was a REAL BATTLE! The stress is something I am going to have to deal with for a long time. Kind of like living in a pressure cooker and waiting for it to explode. It is a situation that I can't change and I need advice on how to deal with it in some other way.:explode: :explode: :explode:

Replies

• ddekay70
    ddekay70 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I will be anxious to see what replies you get. I do the same thing as you. Food alwaays comforts me
  • cmckellip
    cmckellip Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    This is my biggest issue too! Any suggestions would be a huge help.
  • TheNewDanielle
    Options
    I am a newbie, but since joining the group, it's great to vent on here and hear encouragement. I've been exercising every night. I actually haven't really overeaten since starting because i'm so tired after exercising, working, and doing homework, there's no reason to eat. Maybe I've exhausted my bad eating habits for now. What my pals here have said when I'm about to stress eat is to take a walk or some exercise to take the edge off. If all else fails, grab a fruit, veggie or granola something or other :)
  • wvangel
    Options
    I know exactly where you are coming from. I am taking care of my mother-in-law who has Alzheimer's on a full-time basis. My stress levels are out the roof! My only fix for stress eating is taking the "dangerous" foods that I should eat or that I know that I abuse out of my sight. I instead decided to put fruit into the mix...I happen to like the idea of eating something that isn't going to hurt me, on Weight Watchers the fruit is now considered to be zero points, in moderation of course. I like the sour fruit, it satisfies my craving for something to eat.

I put healthy snacks into place, put that safety net in place to keep from "ruining" your days :)
  • msbanana
    msbanana Posts: 793 Member