Fitbit information and experience

Options
I finally decided to get a fitbit flex. I like the way it syncs with MFP, but I have some questions. It seems to me that fitbit is more generous with steps and calories than MFP. If I were to consume all the extra calories my Fitbit gives me on MFP, I would probably gain weight, perhaps a pound a week. Has anyone out there had a similar experience? I'm just getting started with it (3 days) so I don't really have any conclusions as yet.

Replies

• lukewind
    lukewind Posts: 177 Member
    Options
    My calories between fitbit and MFP sync up pretty close. Log in to MFP and make sure your weight is logged correctly. MFP used to allot me like 400 more calories then fitbit but once I made sure the weights were the same both totals are pretty much the same. Remember that that number changes all day long.
  • WalkingAlong
    WalkingAlong Posts: 4,926 Member
    Options
    My Fitbits were pretty good estimators for me. But the Flex is known to be less accurate than the torso-clip ones. You think it's over-estimating your burns by 500 calories a day? Have you looked at the Fitbit charts to see when it's allocating activity that you didn't really do? Maybe it thinks your typing is walking or your walking is running or something?
  • MPD6944
    MPD6944 Posts: 75 Member
    Options
    My calories between fitbit and MFP sync up pretty close. Log in to MFP and make sure your weight is logged correctly. MFP used to allot me like 400 more calories then fitbit but once I made sure the weights were the same both totals are pretty much the same. Remember that that number changes all day long.

Question: I have a fitbit (the little one that I clip on, can't remember which one it is), but I have the app on my iPhone and sync it throughout the day to update it. The question I have is am I supposed to put my food and exercise in both the fitbit and the MFP app?
  • MPD6944
    Options
    Just remembered the name of it the Fitbit Zip!