Banned Peanut Butter in Schools

Options

Replies

• kristydi
    kristydi Posts: 781 Member
    Options
    Just gonna tell this story.

I was an elementary school teacher before I had my kids. I taught a kid with severe nut allergies. One day during snack time I ate a granola bar that did not have nuts in it, but I didn't realize it had been made in a factory that also made ones with nuts. I ate my snack sitting on a desk top. The next class included the nut allergic kid and his seat was the desk I had sat on. 10 minutes into class his face was noticeably swollen and he was wheezing. By the end of the class period his face was so swollen he could barely see and his mom was on the way to get him. Thankfully he didn't need to go to the hospital. But it was a very powerful illustration of how scary these allergies can be and how little it takes to trigger some of them.
  • kaseyr1505
    kaseyr1505 Posts: 624 Member
    Options
    My youngest brother is autistic and peanut butter crackers is the only thing he would eat.. for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So he would have just had to not eat lunch. That's a long day... good thing he's out of school now. I get the ban, totally, and would support it, but for him that would have been awful too. Curious to know what the school would do in that case...

He probably would get a waiver to go to a school that didn't have a nut ban.
  • kaseyr1505
    kaseyr1505 Posts: 624 Member
    Options
    My niece had a fairly severe allergy, she grew out of it and thankfully it is much milder now. In kindergarten, another kid had a PB sandwich, and because kids are gross, didn't wash his hands. He came in contact with my niece, and she had to go to the ER/almost died.

So, I am in favor of nut bans. Children often don't understand allergies, and I don't think they should be taught the lesson by making a classmate really sick.
  • jnichel
    jnichel Posts: 4,553 Member
    Options
    Good. I hate peanut butter.

zq6LL5m.gif