Running 5k

Options
Any tips? I have been running for around 3 months now. Started off doing Bupa 5k training for 8 weeks then went on runs going from 25/28/30 mins. Anyway I have been doing 30 mins 3 times a week then last week had a week off due to holiday. Anyway this morning I went and did a 5k run and although I did it I really struggled. Any help? I felt really let down and felt like my running over the past 3 months have amounted to nothing. Compared to before holiday I did really badly during my run :-\

Replies

• jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options
    Everybody has a bad run once in a while. Don't let your mind snowball it into a disaster. Just get out there an run again next time.
  • MacMomma2013
    MacMomma2013 Posts: 128 Member
    Options
    Sometimes, I just have an "off" day of running; not running at a great pace or with as much energy as other runs. I would chalk yours up to the first run after the holiday, and continue your 30 minute runs 3 times a week.
  • hermann341
    hermann341 Posts: 443 Member
    Options
    You're still building your base, so don't feel bad. I injured myself 5 months after I started running, and it took me over a year to a) recover, and b) start feeling good about my running.
  • Pixiemops
    Pixiemops Posts: 26 Member
    Options
    Just keep on it. You didn't loose all your fitness on holiday. A couple more runs and you will be feeling back on form. I can just about manage 5K although some days I have to walk a small section.

I find doing the parkrun challenges really helpful. It's quite motivating to run with lots of other people. They are measured and timed 5K Free runs held in a park near you. You just need to register with the website before you show up.
    http://www.parkrun.org.uk
    That is the UK page, although I believe there are around all over the world http://www.parkrun.com

Anyway well done for managing 5K. Don't be disheartened, fitness is a moving target :)
  • jlambert77