HELP! Runner Gaining Weight!

Options
So I'm a runner (currently in marathon training), and I've been steadily gaining weight (am up 13 pounds in 7 months). I've been running for 2 years, and I ran a marathon last year and didn't experience this problem! My clothes no longer fit, and I'm becoming increasingly depressed and unhappy with my weight. I am confused with how many calories to consume. Can someone please help me with calories, etc.? Thank you so much!

Replies

• joanna_82
    joanna_82 Posts: 151 Member
    Options
    Are you overestimating the amount of calories you are burning by running?

I always thought I could eat more after long runs but I always put on weight during marathon training because I ate too much junk because I thought I could get away with it!

Are you logging your runs in MFP and then eating some of the calories back? if you are logging, is it accurate via a HRM for example?

The one piece of very good advice someone gave me was 'you can't outrun a bad diet'. So true!
  • Abbygrlbff
    Abbygrlbff Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    It's so true that you can't outrun a bad diet, and thank you for your post. I guess I'm more confused as to the amount of food I should be consuming in a day as well as the amount of exercise calories I should be eating back. Really don't know where to go from here?
  • 3dogsrunning
    3dogsrunning Posts: 27,167 Member
    Options
    It's so true that you can't outrun a bad diet, and thank you for your post. I guess I'm more confused as to the amount of food I should be consuming in a day as well as the amount of exercise calories I should be eating back. Really don't know where to go from here?

What is here?

What is your calorie goal? What are you logging for exercise? Are you tracking/weighing your food?
    How tall are you? What is your weight?

Will you open your food diary?
  • Laurenloveswaffles
    Laurenloveswaffles Posts: 535 Member
    Options
    http://scoobysworkshop.com/calorie-calculator/