help nightshifts!

Options
RoSiulia
RoSiulia Posts: 20 Member
Hello everyone,
I'm new in this beautiful community and i apologize in advance if i didn't post in the right section.
I become member tonight to ask for an advice on my life change. I found a very good job, with high salary, and it comes with very high opportunities but one, a healty life. I will work in the next months only night shifts,5 times a week, from 23:00 to 7:00, and i don't know how to create a plan to follow, such going to the gym, rest enough to have energy all night, and have healthy meals during my night shift.
Any advice will be welcomed!
P.s. i'm a female, 19 years. Sorry my bad english, i'm romanian :).

Replies

• shadowofender
    shadowofender Posts: 786 Member
    Options
    In my experience with working night shifts, it's about moving your body clock. It's hard. So hard. Humans are not nocturnal by nature and that's why so many states have rules about paying overnight workers a higher wage.

My advice would be to treat it like your days are backwards. This might mean sacrificing social time, but working overnights will do that anyway. If you start at 2300, that's like my 800. Treat it like a morning. eat breakfast, bring snacks. Are you the kind of person who prefers morning or night workouts? If morning, do a workout before work. If night, do one at 700.

IT takes time for your body to switch to handling overnights like this. Don't get frustrated with it, and don't bite off more than you can chew.
  • weavernv
    weavernv Posts: 1,555 Member
    Options
    In my experiance with working night shifts, it's about moving your body clock. It's hard. So hard. Humans are not nocturnal by nature and that's why so many states have rules about paying overnight workers a higher wage.