In an epic battle with a sluggish metabolism

Options
Hi all,

This is my first time in a community like this one, although I've struggled with my weight all my life.

My main problem is an extremely "efficient" metabolism (my maintenance level at my current weight is +/- 1600 calories/day), coupled with a passion for cooking, baking, cake decorating, and eating. Oh, and I'm hypothyroid, so I've got that going for me, too... ;-)

Anybody else out there facing similar challenges? I would really love to find somebody, anybody, who has been successful in the same sort of situation - be my inspiration!! :-)

Replies

• thegreatcanook
    thegreatcanook Posts: 2,419 Member
    Options
    Ya, the passion for baking get's me in trouble! And I've battled with metabolism. being sluggish, too.
  • the_kat42
    the_kat42 Posts: 23
    Options
    And you've lost so much weight. Wow.
    How have you done it?
  • Leenda62
    Leenda62 Posts: 96 Member
    Options
    HI there. I have the same problem. I love to cook. It is my therapy but it has also what has gotten me here. My metabolism gets in gear for about 10 lbs and then stops. FOR WEEKS! Then I give up. It is ridiculous!

This time I have not given up and am determined not too. Eating low carb and working out is helping me stick with it. But menopause, fibromyalgia and arthritis are also a problem I am new on these boards too but not on this site or at trying to lose weight. I would love to have some new friends with the same problem to enter act with.
  • the_kat42
    Options
    Yeah, I think pre-monopause is an issue with me as well... and chronic tendonitis, meaning anything like jogging is out of the question. But this time I'm really determined, and I have a powerful ally - my daughter is just finishing up med school, and she's being really helpful and supportive.
  • DonnaMc510
    DonnaMc510 Posts: 5 Member
    Options