Traveling/ Maintaining

Options
I have been working on my weight loss for about 3 months now, I still have aways to go. I will be traveling all of next month consisting of mostly cross-country road trips. I will have many days of 12-15 hours of driving. I am not concerned with continuing my weight loss during my travels, just maintaining until I get back. I am not sure the best way to do this. How many calories should I be eating if I will be completely inactive for most days? I want to try to get in some exercise, but I will mostly be sleeping when I am not driving. Also, any ideas for easy and healthy car food would be very helpful! Thank you all!

Replies

• riobella
    riobella Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    My trainer says one burns 1250-1400 calories just to survive. You might want to use some protein bars like Quest, Kind and Think Thin. At least you'll have some varied flavors.
  • AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    My trainer says one burns 1250-1400 calories just to survive.

Depends on a person's BMR. The upper range is much higher than 1400 calories. I'd burn about 1800 calories a day if I were in a coma.
  • Sabine_Stroehm
    Sabine_Stroehm Posts: 19,263 Member
    Options
    If you have a smart phone, use fooducate or a similar app to help you make snack choices. Bring quest bars etc.
    Or, like we did, declare "no fast food across america". It's a great way to see the country, and affords you many more food choices.
    Good luck!
  • 47Jacqueline
    47Jacqueline Posts: 6,993 Member
    Options
    If you have a smart phone, use fooducate or a similar app to help you make snack choices. Bring quest bars etc.
    Or, like we did, declare "no fast food across america". It's a great way to see the country, and affords you many more food choices.
    Good luck!

That sounds like a great approach. Try all the mom and pop restaurants and cafes. You take more time to travel, but it's better than eating at McDonalds!
  • Phaedra_27