Gram Confusion

Options
I am relatively new to MyFitnessPal. I'm trying to measure accurately and came to the conclusion that I would be much better off thinking in terms of grams rather than cups. Recently I purchased a kitchen scale (Taylor Biggest Loser from Bed Bath and Beyond). It seems to be accurate. I've set the unit of measurement to grams and I do understand how to offset the weight of my container.

I just cooked one packet of Kashi 7 Whole Grain Pilaf. There are three packets in the box, each 6.5 ounces (184g). Total net weight is 19.5 oz (553g). I assume this is dry weight and is listed on the front of the box.

The nutrition label shows the following:
Serving Size 1/2 Cup Cooked (140g/4.9 oz.)
Servings Per Container About 12

Since there are three packets per box and 12 servings per container, this would mean 4 servings per packet.

Before I bought the scale, I was measuring my portion as 1/2 cup from a dry measuring cup. I realized that was incorrect, so today, after cooking, I measured 140 grams (given as cooked serving size) and it filled almost an entire cup. The problem is what remained was at most two additional servings when there should have been enough for three additional servings. I don't understand where I miscalculated, since the nutritional data clearly states 140 grams is the cooked cup serving size. Please help me understand.

Replies

• Llamapants86
    Llamapants86 Posts: 1,221 Member
    Options
    The problem with cooked weight is that there are a lot of variables. Primarily cooking time. If you cook it a little longer, more water evaporates out and the whole thing weighs a little less. I would say that if you want to weigh out cooked, weigh the whole thing cooked and then take a quarter of it.
  • JTick
    JTick Posts: 2,131 Member
    Options