Help with deciding on calories to eat

Options
Hi all, I am new to MFP. I started my diet 10 days ago and all is going fine at the moment. I have been going through the forum and see some posts which mention not to be on a very low calorie diet. In my case I am currently following the 1200 calories suggested by MFP.

I am a 32 year old man. I am currently 92Kg ( 94kg about 10 days ago). I have set a target weight of 70kg and wanted to lose 1kg every week in MFP. I was suggested a 1200 calorie intake per day. Currently I seem to have no problems with eating just 1200 calories. I am trying to atleast burn 300 calories with exercise every day. I got a fitbit yesterday and it looks like I have burnt more than 3000 calories for the whole day and fitbit suggests eating around 1700 calories today.

One thing I have noticed with the 1200 calorie diet is that almost everyday, I am over my recommended protein intake on MFP but under on fat, carbohydrates, minerals and vitamins. I feel that I am not getting all the nutrition required. Can you please give me some guidance on what should I be doing? continue with 1200 cal diet or increase my intake to around 1800.

Replies

• Lemongrab13
    Lemongrab13 Posts: 206 Member
    Options
    It's generally recommended on here to use this site http://scoobysworkshop.com/accurate-calorie-calculator/ instead of the MFP calculation.
    1200 is too low for a man of your size.
    And also if you continue to follow the MFP recommendation it expects you to be eating your exercise calories back.
  • Sued0nim
    Sued0nim Posts: 17,456 Member
    Options
    I would imagine you could eat more and still lose a decent amount of weight - 1200 seems incredibly low ...you should also eat back about 50% of your exercise calories