Discouraged and Hopeless

Options
Hey, this is my first time posting on MFP. I've been using the app for years. I've struggled with my weight for as long as I can remember. Currently, I'm at a healthy 140, being 5' 5.5", but as I start to see the progress a part of me just feels like I don't need to put in as much effort anymore. I'll eat really well, within my target calories for 1-3 days, with lots of exercise (I don't eat back my exercise calories usually), but then after a few days I'll go on a complete binge and undo all progress I've made and then some. I'm feeling really discouraged and I'm afraid I'm going to start gaining this weight back. Can anyone offer me any advice?? I'm so proud of my progress and now I feel like it's all going to disappear.

Replies

• traceywoody
    traceywoody Posts: 233 Member
    Options
    Can you remember what triggers the binge? What are your thoughts? Maybe, if you can pinpoint what is happening right before the binge, you may be able to stop yourself or do something different.
  • sjmrox4ever
    Options
    Well tonight for example, I had eaten well all day, and by dinner time I was hungry. My friend ended up ordering pizza, and after telling myself I would eat one piece, I ended up eating 4. After that I just felt that there was no point in restraint and ate cookies and pudding. So hunger is a trigger, but I also frequently do this when I'm not hungry at all. Sometimes I think "oh i've been eating healthy lately, this won't hurt" and then I take it too far.
  • jameselam12
    Options