What to eat before early morning workout?

Options
Working out in the morning before classes seems to be the best option for me since I'm a full time student and I also work a part time job (plus other things that pop up in my schedule).

I've come across "fasted cardio" and at first although it sounded all good and dandy, it seems like it's not really the best route to go at all. So with that said, does anyone have any tips on what is a good light snack to eat before a workout? I bought some snacks from Trader Joes like unsalted peanuts, raw sunflower seeds, ginger pieces, and dehydrated fruit so would maybe a small combo of those be efficient enough until I eat breakfast after my workout?

Replies

• BuildaBetterBody4
    Options
    I read that fats preworkout are not good and one should limit fat consumption post workout. Carbs and proteins are ideal from what I have read. Nuts have a high content of fat. A personal trainer friend recommends oatmeal and eggs.
  • thegreatcanook
    thegreatcanook Posts: 2,419 Member
    Options
    A cup of coffee does me just fine!
  • helloreenie
    helloreenie Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    a handful of dried fruit (i like trader joe's golden berry blend). it gives you sugar and carbs that burn off and doesn't take a ton of time to digest so you can eat it and then head out the door. be sure to eat when you're done though!
  • Capt_Apollo
    Capt_Apollo Posts: 9,026 Member
    Options
    it depends on your personal preference and what you're working on that day.

personally i find that for shorter (under 60 minute) intense work outs a cup of coffee and a banana are more than enough.

for long cardio sessions (90+ minutes) i'll eat during the work out. but i'm a triathlete. eating on the bike and the run is something i have to get used to.
  • onionparsleysage
    onionparsleysage Posts: 103 Member
    Options
    What type of workout are you doing?