Am I doing something wrong? (Dropped 3lbs in4 days)

Options
I am very new to dieting and MFP. I'm on a vegan diet of 1430cal a day excluding 300-400cals from exercise of which I'm not using much. I started with 195lbs 4 days ago, now my scale says I'm 191.8
Not that I don't like great news but this seems to me like a bit too good to be true. Mind you, I do get cravings, but a little protein with banana in the morning helps a big deal and I do snack from time to time while still staying within the
limits. So is this normal, or am I doing something horrid to myself?

Replies

• Meerataila
    Meerataila Posts: 1,885 Member
    Options
    It's a bit low for most males. Depends on your age, weight and height, and any activity such as a job or school. I'm 5'3 114 pounds and the slothiest human you'll ever meet (at least on any day I can't pry myself out of my chair for formal exercise), and I still only eat a couple hundred calories a day less than that. So I suspect you're low.
  • BombshellPhoenix
    BombshellPhoenix Posts: 1,693 Member
    Options
    You could probably eat more and lose (slower weight loss is truly better weight loss unless morbidly obese, as you have better odds of retaining your current muscle at goal, which leaves you leaner) but first week your glycogen stores are lost, so it might appear to be more than you'll actually lose in weeks to come. I'd wait another week or two and see, adjust from there. Make sure you're getting adequate macros and listen to your body.

I lost all my weight at 1650 net, for example. And I'm 5'3.5" and female
  • LAT1963
    LAT1963 Posts: 1,375 Member
    Options
    It's pretty common for people to lose a lot of water weight in the first week or two of a diet. This could just be water.