Diet Coke Addiction

Options
I have been drinking Diet Coke for over 15 years now. I drink about 60 ounces of it a day, but really want to stop. I have heard in the past if I just took away my diet coke habbit I could loose 15 pounds, but I do not know how I could cut it out of my daily life. Does anyone have any helpful suggestions??? PLEASE HELP!

Replies

• jlc2002
    jlc2002 Posts: 20
    Options
    you need to ween it out. Start cutting back. if you drink a bottle a day, cut it back to half for a couple, then a quarter, etc. If you quit cold turkey you will suffer major headaches. My bf has the same addiction.
  • Linshizzle
    Options
    I would like to know as well! I LOVE soda & i switched to Diet. I dont ALOT of them but I like to have one everyday. Anywho I have TOTALLY cut out soda this week, its been FOUR WHOLE DAYS!!! So anywho im glad you asked this!
  • BethFox
    BethFox Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    I went cold turkey (can you say nausea inducing caffeine withdrawl headache?), but you could also try tapering off. Fill up on water instead of soda. Not much help, sorry. Good luck!
  • Grubaughj
    Grubaughj Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I've had the same problem. I still drink a lot of Diet Coke each day, but I have given it up in the past for a few months at a time. I would subsitute it with iced tea during those times, since it was one of the few non-caloric drinks (besides water) that I like. But I always end up going back to Diet Coke because I just really like the taste of it. Interestingly, for me, I didn't really lose weight during the times I stopped drinking it. I think that depends on the person and what you end up drinking instead of the Diet Coke...
  • kappyblu
    kappyblu Posts: 654 Member
    Options