Polar HRM

Options
2»

Replies

• Chain_Ring
    Chain_Ring Posts: 753 Member
    Options
    And yes it costs quite a bit more. You get what you pay for and you pay for what you get.
    Alright...I am finally going to bite! I have been using Polar for several years and have always LOVED them, but I am going to take a look at the Gramin website today and see what I'm missing! :)
    Thanks!!

Good choice!
  • Chain_Ring
    Options
    I just got my FT7 and I've used it once so far, but I really like it! Easy to use, feels comfortable. I was in the same boat as you when it came down to choosing between the ft7 & ft4. I went with the FT7 because it was only $5 more than the FT4 that I could find.

Doh! Shoulda bought a Garmin.
  • Chain_Ring
    Options
    Neither. Buy a Garmin instead. It'll make all other devices look like toys.

Unless the person doesn't need a GPS in which case the low end Garmins are useless to them (not to mention more expensive that the FT4 or FT7). Olathe, Kansas puts out less pro-Garmin propaganda than you do.

U mad bro?
  • FatFreeFrolicking
    FatFreeFrolicking Posts: 4,252 Member
    Options
    Those models are similar. Not familiar with the FT7 but no stopwatch in the FT4 .. but remember that the calorie burn numbers from these devices are prone to error, sometimes big errors.

That is due to the fact that they can only do one thing .... measure your heart rate.

The calorie burn number is a math calculation .. and can be very very out. I just find it funny how people here think that these devices are so precise.

So just be aware of that .. if something sounds like it is out, it probably is.

For example .. my FT4 (which I have since given away .. as it was just not accurate), said I burned 1998 calories for walking about 3 hours. I am 162 lbs .. and that amount of calorie burn is just not even close, even though I am a pretty fast walker.