weighing vs measuring food

Options
So there is a lot of discussion about weighing food. I have 20 pounds to lose, I have lost 10 since June 30 by logging here, exercising a lot more than I ever did (it's summer, I'm a teacher, so I have the time right now), cleaning up my diet and measuring everything. I have been using measuring cups--whatever the portion size is, that's what I'm having, or half of that or whatever. Now, my question is--what's wrong with that? Lots of folks here seem to use a food scale. If the portion size printed on the box (cereal for example) says 2/3 of a cup = 90 calories (for example), and I scoop out two of my 1/3 measuring cups full-like, evenly full, not heaping--what would be better about weighing? I am perfectly willing to go buy a food scale--someone recommend a good one, reasonable cost and pretty user friendly--happy to do it--but is weighing that much better than measuring out portion sizes?

Replies

• GrammyPeachy
    GrammyPeachy Posts: 1,723 Member
    Options
    I measure too, but I'm getting a scale for meat portions and things not so easily measured with measuring cups and spoons.
  • ellew70
    ellew70 Posts: 222 Member
    Options
    Measuring is generally better for liquids ... think about it... a cup of milk takes up the full cup. When you pour in cereal, its not really a cup, because there is air between the pieces of cereal, or it might round up at the top or dip down. The amount of difference isn't probably a big deal, but think about bigger things. How do you measure a "cup" of chicken breast. or broccoli florets? The only way to know is to weigh it. It's really not that hard when you get used it it.

And estimating? Right out.
  • troublemaker47
    Options