How many calories should I be burning?

Options
I am 46 years old (female), 6 feet tall and weigh in at 346 pounds (started at 354 pounds 2 weeks ago). Exercising is very new to me. I have been sitting on the couch eating for the past 46 years. A few weeks ago I decided to make a difference. I joined my local gym and I am following my calories daily. My question is, currently I can only exercise for about 30 minutes without feeling like i am going to die. Within that 30 minutes I am burning about 120 calories. I read other peoples posts and they are burning anywhere from 600-800 calories a day exercising!!! Am I failing myself and not pushing myself hard enough? Would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you.

Replies

• Francl27
    Francl27 Posts: 26,371 Member
    Options
    There is absolutely no way you're only burning 120 calories. Where are you getting that number from?
  • zoeysasha37
    zoeysasha37 Posts: 7,088 Member
    Options
    How are you calculating this?
    you may very well be burning much more then that. But with that said, there's many people on mfp that overestimate their calories burnt.( for example, I've seen people log 800 calories burnt for pushing a shopping cart for an hour. lol!) But I guess it also depends on the persons height, weight, and so on. But if I had to guess, I'd say that your probably burning more then 120 calories.
    Btw , congratulations on your lifestyle change! You should be very proud of yourself! Soon, you will be able to last much longer at the gym. Just Keep at it! :-)
  • plumsparkle
    plumsparkle Posts: 203 Member
    Options
    Hi, I'm afraid i have no idea about the calories, but i would say you are using much more than that. But the thing is, you are losing weight doing exercise you can manage, so whatever you are doing, its working :)