Weight Loss Plateau and too few calories?

Options
I've hit a plateau. I am so frustrated! I'm eating very healthy and working out modestly (by far not working out hard, unfortunately) but I am always eating just under my calorie goal. Would eating under your calorie goal really screw you up enough to make your body refuse to lose weight?

Replies

• helenamonks
    Options
    try doubling some of your portions if you're eating healthy.. pick up your calories consumed a little bit so that it will jumpstart your metabolism
  • bnlstarr
    Options
    Thanks Helena! I tried that last night with a handful of almonds. I know I need to realize that I am not going to jump on the scale the next am and see a 2 pound loss or anything but it gets tough to see that # stick sometimes.:flowerforyou:
  • digby765
    digby765 Posts: 163
    Options
    I'm no expert but try eating what it reccomends for a week and see what happens, good luck :happy:
  • mayandtaylor
    mayandtaylor Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    I was hitting under my minimum for about a week straight with no weight loss. I think I put my body into starvation mode. So I worked at making sure i met my minimum and I have started calorie cycling. It has made a huge difference.
  • bnlstarr
    Options
    Thank you! Sometimes I panic at the idea of consuming 1200 calories. I know that isn't a healthy mentality, also, sometimes it's hard to get all of that in now since I've gotten used to eating so little. I'll try and break it up by eating little portions.
  • stujones2000
    Options
    Have one rest day where you up your calories to the reccomended amount for weight maintenece... this will shock the body and stop it from thinking 1200 calories is 'the norm' and adapting for this.

You really do need to do exercise with the dieting to have maximum effect, even if it's just walking instead of driving etc...
  • bnlstarr
    Options