PCOS Journey

Options
Hello All,

I was only recently diagnosed with PCOS although I have suspected for years that it could be attributed to the irregular periods, moodiness, hair in unwanted places and the weight. In high school I was always extremely active, playing sports year round. I could run for miles and was still in the 200's. I went to college and became less active due to more time in the library and working. In my junior year I began working overnight and bought a house. I was traveling 30 mins to work then another 45 minutes to school. I had class from 8am-3pm and then worked 5pm-5am. Needless to say due to the crazy schedule I slept in my car, showered at work and began eating more to stay awake. I graduated from college with my bachelors degree and 60lbs heavier. I finally decided to seek help and get a diagnosis this past spring because my then fiance and I were getting married in June 2014 and knew we wanted to have kids. I have always had an overwhelming fear of not being able to have kids so I wanted to be as proactive as possible. I went to see an OB/GYN who gave me the diagnosis but did nothing else and offered no support or advice on how to lessen the symptom and become healthier. I have recently seen a RE who did an ultrasound and determined that my ovaries are VERY polycystic. So I am starting my journey to a healthier life style so that my husband and I can have the family we always dreamed of. I have never been one to take medication but I have started taking metformin. If anyone else can offer some advice or would like to join me on this journey I would love to have some friends along the way!

Replies

• nogreenthumb
    Options
    Hi,

Good for you for being proactive and doing whatever you can. I don't have PCOS but I would love to be of any support I can :)
  • KBig14
    KBig14 Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    Hi,