Bulky upper body

Options
Hello everyone! My name is Shannon and I have currently been working out at a gym in VA. I am a nurse and feel like since starting my career I have become very bulky up top from lifting and pulling on patients. I have pictures from in the past where I wasn't this big in the top. I look manly for a woman! My question for you all is what can I do to tone this down and turn my muscle into lean muscle? Also what do you all recommend for more defined waist and flatter stomach?

Thanks so much for the help and motivation! I appreciate it:)

Replies

• BombshellPhoenix
    BombshellPhoenix Posts: 1,693 Member
    Options
    Muscle and lean muscle are the same thing. ... I don't...understand.

eta: it looks like you still have some weight to lose? Often times when people think they look "bulky " it's because of fat. Since you can't spot reduce, it's down to genetics on where we lose from. Might seem counterproductive but strength training in a deficit preserves lean mass and make a you look leaner as you lose weight. I really don't think you want to lose muscle and I doubt you look "manly"
  • meshashesha2012
    meshashesha2012 Posts: 8,326 Member
    Options
    sorry but what pray tell is the difference between muscle and lean muscle?

how overweight are you? are you sure that some of your "bulky muscle" isnt just fat?
  • ana3067
    ana3067 Posts: 5,623 Member
    Options
    Muscle and lean muscle are the same thing. ... I don't...understand.

eta: it looks like you still have some weight to lose? Often times when people think they look "bulky " it's because of fat. Since you can't spot reduce, it's down to genetics on where we lose from. Might seem counterproductive but strength training in a deficit preserves lean mass and make a you look leaner as you lose weight. I really don't think you want to lose muscle and I doubt you look "manly"