How much lifting + cardio

Options
So I just started lifting again this week and I realised I can't lift for 30-60 minutes and then do my planned run afterward (3 miles). I also just started working out in the morning so I don't know if not having a day's worth of hydration+fuel is making it harder to run further or if its just the lifting before hand.

So I was thinking of doing 6 days of workouts instead of 5, where I lift MWF and run 3 miles SunTuTh. Or would it be better to just work towards running on lifting days? Or maybe lift in the mornings and run in the afternoon? I'm just looking for what others are already doing or any advice people have.

Replies

• jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options
    I rest one day, lift 3, run the other 3. It's completely doable. My runs are 2, 3.5, and 4.5 miles.
  • yopeeps025
    yopeeps025 Posts: 8,680 Member
    Options
    Your schedule looks fine to me.

Me personally I love my cardio after weights. Burns more calories and it loosen up everything since the lactic acid from lifting.
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,950 Member
    Options
    run 3 miles?

You can do that on your lifting days, it's not a strain.
  • yopeeps025
    yopeeps025 Posts: 8,680 Member
    Options
    run 3 miles?

Everyone starts somewhere. If there not ready for it there not ready YET.
  • marissanik
    marissanik Posts: 344 Member
    Options
    All depends on personal preference.

I do 3 days lifting for 30 min, and 6 days cardio for 30 min. Sometimes I do cardio first, sometimes I do weights first. Change it up to keep my body guessing!
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options
    run 3 miles?

Exactly.

And beyond ability, there can be time issues. It may be easier to carve out six 1 hour sessions than three 2 hour sessions.
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,950 Member
    Options
    run 3 miles?

Exactly.