Struggling to hit my targets

MezaEza
MezaEza Posts: 267 Member
Hi.

I'm pretty new to using this and struggling to hit my recommended targets for protein (92g a day) and Carbohydrates (228g a day). On a good day I manage to get between 50-70% of my target and could really use some help!

I'm not wanting to eat extra food purely to hit these targets, so I'm looking for help for how I can increase my intake in my meals. Any help would be much appreciated!

My diary is viewable by friends only but please feel free to add me.

Thanks for your help!

Replies

• kirkor
    kirkor Posts: 2,530 Member
    So you are struggling to hit your protein and carb targets, and are hitting your calorie goals with fat grams? Like, peanut butter, olives, etc?
  • Capt_Apollo
    Capt_Apollo Posts: 9,026 Member
    your first goal is to try to hit your calorie goal. don't worry about being 100 calories over, but just to be more or less there.

the other stuff, the macro nutrients, are important, as it can give you a lot of useful information, but you'll make yourself crazy trying to make them perfect.
  • JamericanBoy
    JamericanBoy Posts: 484 Member
    I use to sweat over this as well until a friend recommended that I try balancing the macro goals over a week instead over a day. Makes it a lot more manageable.
  • MezaEza
    So you are struggling to hit your protein and carb targets, and are hitting your calorie goals with fat grams? Like, peanut butter, olives, etc?

Yes, I suppose I must be. I'm pretty much hitting my fat (47g) and sugar (53g) targets everyday so have no issue there. The majority of my fat consumption comes from nuts/avocados/meat/fish.
  • MezaEza
    I use to sweat over this as well until a friend recommended that I try balancing the macro goals over a week instead over a day. Makes it a lot more manageable.

Thanks, that certainly sounds like it may be the way I need to do things. I'll try that over the next week or so.
  • bluuu123
    bluuu123 Posts: 83