StrongLifts 5x5

Options
I am new to engaging in *real* weight lifting, and I'm going to get this 5x5 app after work and check it out. I have reviewed the website. For those who know loads more than me, I have some questions:

1. Is it possible to do this routine alone? The website says do not lift alone. I figure in some cases, a spotter is needed or recommended. Do I need someone else to work out with me so that I am safe? Does anyone out there do this on their own? Is it possible?

2. I know I'm being WAY overly sensitive, but I wasn't thrilled with the website directing everything toward "guys". Most of the people who've mentioned this app/system on MFP are ladies! At least there was a woman or two in the group photo on the site. Perhaps this is simply a language-based difference, as the dude's first language is not English. Regardless -- the app is for ALL, right? It should be promoted that way!! Ok, rant over.

Now, may the "lifting strong" lecturing commence!!

Replies

• psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,401 MFP Moderator
    Options
    1. I know several people who do it by themselves. Just start with low weight to ensure form is proper by looking in a mirror or asking someone. Keep in mind they give disclaimers to protect themselves.

2. All weight training programs are unisex, regardless of who they market to.
  • jmc0806
    jmc0806 Posts: 1,444 Member
    Options
    1. I do this on my own, I started doing my OHP in the squat rack because its getting heavier and for safety reasons.

2. Anyone can do this program, you can customize the app to start at lower weight and also increase in smaller increments if you need to. I believe there is even a Stronglifts 5x5 group on here for women.
  • patrickblo13
    patrickblo13 Posts: 831 Member
    Options
    I did SL5x5 for 6 months last year. I did all my workouts alone. I have never had a spotter. Just be safe and use your head. If you don't feel comfortable with the lift ask for assistance.