Setting goals for weight lifting after plateau/boredom

Options
I have kind of hit a plateau with my weight lifting. I've been doing it for about 8 months now and I definitely feel like I'm not able to add more weight each week like I used to. I have also found that I'm experiencing more aches and pains related to ligament issues, especially in my wrists. And honestly, I feel kind of bored and uninspired as a result.

For the first three months I used machines and lifted heavy, adding weight each week. Then I joined a different gym and have been working with a trainer and do mostly free weights. He has me doing mostly higher reps than I used to do (15-20) and lighter weights (but still heavy). I have a lot more definition in my arms and back now. He also has me splitting my routines, so instead of doing two lower and two upper body workouts per week, I am doing 1 lower body, 1 tricep and chest, 1 bicep and back, and 1 shoulders and abs workout. The theory is that it is supposed to help me work out each muscle group harder. It doesn't feel that way, to be honest.

Soooooo, I feel like I need to create some new goals for weight lifting to stay motivated. I also realized I should probably have goals so that I can plan my training around.

Is there a difference in approach between getting stronger and getting more defined? I want both, but like the idea of progressing in some way, and getting stronger seems like a clear way to progress.

I have also been spinning 4 times per week and doing 1-2 other days of cardio. The spinning is pretty intense and I wonder if this is contributing to my fatigue when lifting (and some of the writst issues)?

Replies

• SweatLikeDog
    SweatLikeDog Posts: 272 Member
    Options