Slightly sore lower back after deadlifting

Options
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to barbell lifting - I decided recently to start to take a more active role in my fitness, rather than just going to the gym, cranking out 3x10's of whatever looked interesting, and then eating whatever the hell I felt like.

After doing some research I landed on the Stronglifts 5x5 program. I spent quite a while looking at the form videos and descriptions and trying to get a good idea of what the form is like for each of the lifts. Unfortunately, I don't have a lifting partner who already knows what they're doing, so I'm pretty much on my own in terms of starting to lift.

The biggest thing I'm afraid of is injuring my lower back while deadlifting - it's why I took so long to get started with this program in the first place. However, I sucked it up and got started this week, and yesterday was my first deadlifting day.

I started with the bar + 35 pounds, as instructed, and went through the motions feeling pretty good, trying as hard as I could to keep a straight back (which I think I achieved pretty well). However, today my lower back is just a tiny bit sore. I'm thinking this is probably just normal since I've never done this type of lift before but I wanted to see if anyone else had experienced this

. I'd also love to just hear any advice for someone who is brand new to lifting and trying to figure out form on my own!

Replies

• jhc7324
    jhc7324 Posts: 200 Member
    Options
    Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to barbell lifting - I decided recently to start to take a more active role in my fitness, rather than just going to the gym, cranking out 3x10's of whatever looked interesting, and then eating whatever the hell I felt like.