Should I use sugar or sweetner on my morning cereal?

Options
I'm just getting started on my weight loss and would like some advice on whether to use sugar or sweetners on my oatmeal, shredded wheat, etc. A little does go a long way with me. Are all sweetners bad for you? Is it best to eat real sugar and just go lightly?

Replies

• SweetPandora
    SweetPandora Posts: 660 Member
    Options
    I use maple syrup on my oatmeal. It's natural. I try to avoid putting chems into my body!

Karen
  • BlueEyedMomma88
    BlueEyedMomma88 Posts: 558 Member
    Options
    Id say use a lil bit of real sugar in moderation.. I dont think sweetners are too good for u..
  • misty589
    misty589 Posts: 319 Member
    Options
    I Use a tsp of brown sugar on my oats, I don't use any artificial sweeteners for myself or my family.
  • heathersmilez
    heathersmilez Posts: 2,579 Member
    Options
    I would do sweetener if absolutely necessary but you'll find A LOT of ant-sweetener people on MFP who would tell you regular sugar is better b/c sweetener is basically a chemical not a food. Just be sure to count the calories if you use sugar. Don’t believe the stuff about sweetener spiking your insulin levels though etc etc. that is incorrect and unfounded unless you are eating massive amounts then it is possible.

There is NO need to add sugar to cereal, they already are full of it other than Fiber 1 Original which I just noticed yesterday actually has 0g of sugar! I noticed they said no added sugar but there is no natural stuff either. Sweet! Convenient pun huh? ;)
  • Aimee_PD
    Aimee_PD Posts: 177 Member
    Options
    sweeteners aren't good for you. doesn't stop me from using splenda when necessary though. i dont add sugar to my cereals at all. my mom added sugar to honey bunches of oats one time and i didnt understand why. its got honey in it. it was sweet already! ...
  • fitnesspirateninja
    fitnesspirateninja Posts: 667 Member
    Options