Weight of bars

Options
Hi. I'm new to strength training that isn't done on a machine. I like the option that free weights gives to add and subtract weight, but I never know how much the bar weighs. The only label I've found at my gym is on the squat rack where it tells me the bar weighs 15 lbs. I have no clue what the bar weighs at the bench press or the curl station though. Anybody know?

Replies

• micheleb15
    micheleb15 Posts: 1,418 Member
    Options
    Most olympic bars on the bench and racks are 45lbs.

Edited to add - olympic
  • jpapp13
    jpapp13 Posts: 73 Member
    Options
    Most olympic bars on the bench and racks are 45lbs.

Edited to add - olympic

^^^

What she said : )
  • JoRocka
    JoRocka Posts: 17,525 Member
    Options
    standard OLY bars I believe 2" diameter and as noted- are 45 pounds.

I believe the women's OLY bars are 1.5 " and weigh 35 pounds. *believe*

I don't use them so I don't know for 100% certain- I do know that they weigh less though.
  • richardheath
    richardheath Posts: 1,276 Member
    Options
    An "Olympic" bar has 2" diameter ends for plates with 2" holes and will generally weigh 45 lb.

A "Standard" bar has 1" diameter ends for plates with 1" holes. These types of bars will generally weigh in at around 15-18 lbs I believe. Because they are skinnier, they can hold less weight than an Olympic bar.

I would actually assume that the bar at the squat and bench press stations in a commercial gym would be Olympic (and thus weigh 45 lb) rather than Standard, as many people will be loading them up with more than ~200 lb of plates.
  • micheleb15
    micheleb15 Posts: 1,418 Member
    Options

I've never seen these. Are these what women use in competitions? I'm in total irrational feminist mode about why the lighter ones are designated for women.
  • Leadfoot_Lewis
    Leadfoot_Lewis Posts: 1,623 Member
    Options

I don't use them so I don't know for 100% certain- I do know that they weigh less though.