not losing weight since I started lifting weights

Options
Has anyone else run into this problem where you aren't losing weight once you've started strength training? I was losing almost 3 pounds a week with just cardio and diet and then when I added in strength training around the 5 week mark...I'm not losing anything...not gaining (much - about 1.5 pound one week). Any advice, insight or help would be greatly appreciated!

Replies

• GroovySloth28
    GroovySloth28 Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    This is kind of my situation too, although I know I have some outlying factors (i.e. I'm currently on my period, just got back on BCP, etc.) that could be playing into it. I'm wondering if I'm eating enough to compensate for my new activity level, because I am working out a lot more frequently and burning more calories because strength training will do that for ya... Or if my macros are off potentially? I don't know... So I guess this is more of a "I could use an answer too" - type response than an answer :/

How much are you eating every day, and how often are you working out?
  • MajicMaiden13
    Options
    You are building muscle mass. Don't worry about it. It will help you by speeding up your metabolism in the long run. Keep at it and keep counting your calories. If you are under your calories you WILL lose weight.
  • danielmbuckley
    danielmbuckley Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    Have you noticed that you're eating more? Strength training itself it's going to cause weight gain. However, there could be a couple of factors:

- Have you reduced your cardio to where you aren't burning as many calories as you used to?
    - Are you eating more because your hunger has increased due to strength training?

Weight gain / loss is:

Calories In - Calories Out = ___ (negative if you want to lose, positive if you want to gain)

Hope this helps! Would really need to review your full diary / workout program to fully evaluate.
  • donnylou
    donnylou Posts: 46 Member