Why I Love To Run

Options
I am relatively new to running, having started about three and a half years ago. I had several reasons for starting, but most of them had nothing to do with losing weight or getting in shape...those things just happened. It was one of the best decisions I have made.

I love the clean simplicity of putting one foot in front of another to get to feel the success of what one runner calls “relentless forward progress”. I do not need special clothes. I do not need expensive shoes. I do not need shoes at all. I do not need to take a class. I do not need to subject myself to expert opinions. I do not need anyone to help me. I can just go outside and run. It is free. And it is freeing. I do, however, have the special clothes and the expensive shoes and I listen to runners who are better, faster and stronger than me. These things enhance my enjoyment, but to simply run, I do not need them. The act of the run is uncomplicated, unadorned and raw.

I love the melding of the physical with the mental… the body with the brain… the physiology with the psychology. If you run, you cannot escape this symbiosis. I wonder at the days when my brain is tired and disjointed, but my legs are strong and energetic and they carry me down the miles until my brain finds its quietude. I value the days where my body is tired and pained, but my mind and my will accept no excuses and I run and I run and I run… far beyond what I wanted to believe was possible.