Women over a certain age, harder to lose weight

Options
Hi...

My name is Deborah. New to MFP. I've worked out all my life and right up until my mid 30's was really lean and fit. I'm 44 now but in the last 15 years have gained a massive 50 lbs. Nothing has changed in terms of my diet and/or intensity/frequency of my workouts. The only thing that has changed is me getting older (obviously).

Anyway, about 3 months ago I hit my heaviest weight of 179 lbs and was totally depressed. What was I doing wrong??? Well, I'm not quite sure what I was but after some research, I have started eating 5 smaller, high protein/low carb meals a day and getting weekly Vitamin B12 shots. As of today I weigh 164 lbs so I've lost a total of 15 lbs. Good, right!!!

I just wanted to share my story since I'm new to this. I love the calorie counting Dietary Page and the Exercise Recorder. The planner takes all the guess work out of EVERYTHING!!! I truly think MFP will keep me motivated to get to my weight goal.

Please share any of your tips for weight loss or for keeping hunger at bay with me, I'd love to see what others are doing. I see people on here have lost over 100 lbs!!! Great Job!!!

Replies

• zericaaaaa
    zericaaaaa Posts: 313 Member
    Options
    hi! welcome to MFP! recording my food and exercise on here has been my saving grace with losing weight. although I'm still a baby (21 yrs old lol) I think that this website can help immensely with the weight loss process. besides my own motivation, I attribute a lot of my success to MFP. just keep doing what you're doing! it seems to be working!
  • rosebette
    rosebette Posts: 1,660 Member
    Options