Another Benefit to Heavy Lifting!

MB2MN
MB2MN Posts: 334 Member
*This is purely anecdotal and I do not have scientific proof to back it up. Just my experience*

So I've been running for a few years now, first with no lifting, then with high rep/low weight lifting (which is what I thought women were supposed to do) and now FINALLY I have seen the light and started heavy lifting 6-8 weeks ago...can't remember exactly. Anyways, I used to get really frustrated when I was doing high rep lifting because I couldn't seem to run as fast as I did when I wasn't lifting at all, so I assumed that it would be the same when I started heavy lifting. I hadn't been running outdoors at all the last 2 months or so because of cold weather so when I went out yesterday I expected to be really slow from my new lifting regime.

I got a 10k PR.

I have no idea if this is what is actually happening but I'm thinking that the high rep way of lifting was using more muscle endurance (similar to cardio) so that they were still fatigued when I went running, whereas the heavy lifting is actually increasing my strength and therefore stamina.

Anybody else have similar experiences?

Replies

• runnergrlfl
    runnergrlfl Posts: 82 Member
    Yes, you will be a more efficient runner if you lift weights.

http://www.hokksund-rehab.no/filarkiv/File/Forskningsartikler/StoerenHelgerud_et_al_2008.pdf
    ETA: Article from the Official Journal of the American College of Sports Medicine
  • Mom_of_X
    Mom_of_X Posts: 85 Member
    YES! And it was beautiful!! Lifting max weight/low reps, and killing it on the trails. =]

*Congrats on the PR!
  • MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    ...heavy lifting is actually increasing my strength ...

It's also going to significantly help with injury prevention.

No-brainer really, that's essentially the function of cross training...
  • ahamm002
    ahamm002 Posts: 1,690 Member