Fitness band suggestions please!!

Options
Hello everyone!!! I'm new to working out and staying fit. I really want to get a fitness tracker band of some sort. I've seen so many different kinds and have no idea which I should get.

This is what I want in a fitness tracker
Calorie count
Step count
Heart rate monitor (No chest strap)
Alert if non active too long
COLOR VARIETY
Tracks sleep and wakes you up (Optional)
DURABLE

I've read tons of reviews on Amazon and am still stuck. Any suggestions/reviews?

Thank you in advance!

Replies

• iheartinsanity
    iheartinsanity Posts: 205 Member
    Options
    I love my bodymedia fit. Most people use fitbit b/c it doesn't require a service fee, but I find it's worth it and I like it waaaay better than my fitbit. The BMF does all of the things you're looking for (except you can't wear it in water, doesn't alert you). They don't nessesary have different colors, but they do have skins and different bands you can purchase separately. I paid out of pocket $95 for mine, plus I paid ninety for two years of service. Big fee, but IMO it keeps me honest with myself. It's worth the investment if you ask me.

FYI, I don't think there are ANY bands on the market that wakes you up (but BMF does track sleep). Just use your alarm clock! :)
  • TeaBea
    TeaBea Posts: 14,517 Member
    Options
    This thread is good......

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/1443201-fitness-devices-garmin-polar-bodymedia-etc-ask-me?hl=ask&page=1#posts-21552559

I have 2 devices:

FitBit One - this is a fancy pedometer that tracks steps, stairs, sleep. Silent alarm can wake me up. If my workout is step based then it's not too bad in the calorie estimation arena. I log into a website (no monthly fee) and I can sync it here with MFP. I can view calories and lots of other things on my "Dashboard".....I can get details about eating, sleep, & weight also.